Keith’s Paula Deen Green Bean Casserole Ya’ll!

Keith's Holiday Casserole

I have said it many times, but I will say it again.  “I love my job!”  I really love this job for so many reasons.  I love the challenge, the opportunity to learn, and the chance to support so many students through providing assistance to their teachers, principals, and district leaders.  Every day I am grateful for my job.  And on that note, one of the many bright spots of my position is that I have met some incredible people.  I have met folks from whom I have learned much.  One of these exceptional educators is Keith Eades.  Keith is the current DST Regional Lead for Regions 7 and 8, and the former superintendent in Avery County.  He is a fantastic educator for whom I have the utmost respect.

.

My colleague and friend, Keith Eades - obviously not at work in this photo!

Once Keith discovered my blog, he decided that perhaps this was a platform for him as well!  So, over the Thanksgiving holiday, Keith and family spent some time at the Outer Banks where they celebrated together.  Keith prepared Paula Deen’s Green Bean Casserole for his family.  He said it was delicious.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you approximately 30 minutes.

Ingredients

1/3 stick butter
1/2 cup diced onions
1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
2 cups sliced green beans
3 cups chicken broth
1 (10 3/4-ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
1 (2.8-ounce) can French-fried onion rings
Pinch House Seasoning (recipe follows)
1 cup grated Cheddar

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Melt the butter in a large skillet.
Saute the onions and mushrooms in the butter.
Boil green beans in chicken broth for 10 minutes and drain.
Add the green beans, mushroom soup, onion rings, and House Seasoning, to taste, to the onion mixture.
Stir well.
Pour into a greased 1 1/2-quart baking dish, and bake for 20 minutes.
Then top the casserole with the Cheddar and bake for 10 minutes longer, or until the casserole is hot and cheese is melted.

Paula Deen’s House Seasoning

1 cup salt
1/4 cup black pepper
1/4 cup garlic powder

Mix ingredients together and store in an airtight container for up to 6 months.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Keith’s Paula Deen Green Bean Casserole Ya’ll!

  1. Pingback: Perfect Pot Roast | Cooking by the Water

Leave a comment