Granny’s Chocolate Pound Cake

Granny's Chocolate Pound Cake is moist and delicious.

My Granny Ola had a gift for cake baking. Every Saturday evening during my childhood and youth, we would go to Granny and Papa’s house to visit for a couple of hours. We would all watch Hee Haw and Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom and eat fresh, warm cake. Whether it was coconut cake, pound cake, chocolate cake, Italian cream cake, or a variety of other cakes Granny would bake, I always looked forward to our Saturday evening dessert at Granny and Papa’s house.

My brother Andy and I sure love Granny's cakes!

Although Granny seldom flubbed a cake, it did happen occasionally. One time Granny got a recipe for Bess Truman Cake. She was excited to make it. However, it was, quite possibly, the worst cake in the world. It was so bad, in fact, that Granny had to throw it away. From that point forward, any cake that was not good was known as a Bess Truman. For example, my mother called me one time and said, “I don’t know what is wrong with this cake, it just won’t rise. It may not be ‘fit to eat.'” Then, I replied, “Is it a Bess Truman?” My mother replied, “I am sure it will be!”
.
I can assure you that Granny’s Chocolate Pound Cake is no Bess Truman!

From start to finish, this recipe will take about 2 hours 15 minutes.

Try this cake with a tall glass of milk.

Ingredients
2 sticks margarine (softened)
1/2 cup Crisco
3 cups sugar
5 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 cup milk
1 – 16 oz. can Hershey’s chocolate syrup
.
Directions
Preheat oven to 275 degrees.
Cream margarine, shortening, and sugar.
Add eggs one at a time, and beat well.
Add vanilla.
Sift dry ingredients and add alternately with milk.
Add chocolate syrup.
Mix well.
Bake in greased and floured 10-inch tube pan for 1 hour 45 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Granny’s Chocolate Pound Cake

  1. Ali says:

    Ali’s 4 Star Rating: Not only did I get to taste a piece of this but I got to help just a little! It was soooo yummy!

  2. Alex says:

    I will make the granys chocolate cake it looks delicious

  3. Kathy Hawes says:

    Can you use butter instead of margarine? I was just curious.

  4. Sonya says:

    I tried this recipe & it was simply delicious. I drizzled a chocolate glaze
    over it too.

  5. Pkeith says:

    I followed this receipe but cake was not done after 1 hour 45 minutes at 275

    • Heather Mullins says:

      Every stove and climate is different. I use convection bake. I am sorry that the cake was not done.

Leave a Reply

