Perfect Pot Roast

Your roast will be tender and full of flavor when you arrive home from a hard day of work.

I would like to take my hat off and say a big “kudos” to the person who invented the crock pot.  I mean, really, what a GREAT invention.  The crock pot allows us to have incredible home-cooked meals that take minimal effort and yield amazing results.  There is nothing like coming in the door after a long day at work and being welcomed by the thick, glorious aroma of meat and vegetables.  Ah, I love thee, Crock Pot!

When I was a child, my mother used to make roast a lot.  My brother and I grew up on a cattle farm, and we always had a freezer full of fresh beef — all sorts of cuts — all wrapped in white butcher paper with a stamp that read “Ground Beef,” “T-Bone,” “Rump Roast,” etc.  I didn’t realize then how lucky we were and that our freezer full of white wax paper packages was the exception and not the rule.

Now, whenever I smell a pot roast, I can’t help but to think back to my youth and life on our family farm in Hays and seeing my mother, still in her clothes from school, hurriedly preparing dinner for our family every night.  I can hear the pressure cooker and the pots clanging as she ensured we had a delicious, hot meal.  We were fortunate, and to this day, whenever I open the door to my home and smell my Perfect Pot Roast, I am transported back to the house on the hill to my mother’s kitchen and her love for us.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you ALL DAY LONG!

Your prep time, however, is approximately 10 minutes.

Ingredients

Crock Pot
Roast Cut of Choice
10-12 red potatoes cut into bite-sized pieces
1 1/2 cups baby carrots
1 medium white onion sliced
3 tbsp minced garlic
2 pkgs. Lipton Beefy Onion Soup
2 Beef bouillon cubes
3 cups water

Directions

Mix soup and bouillon cubes with water in crock pot.
Add potatoes.
Place roast on potatoes and smear garlic on roast.
Add onions then carrots.
Cook on low all day.

Enjoy alone, with bread of choice, or with Keith’s Paula Deen’s Green Bean Casserole, Ya’ll!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

