Lakeside Tomato Pesto Bruschetta

This hearty bruschetta is bursting with flavor.

This hearty bruschetta is bursting with flavor.

Last weekend, I was trying to clean out my refrigerator and use some herbs and vegetables while they were still fresh.  So, I began to create a pile on my kitchen counter of the items I needed to use in my Sunday evening meal.

What happened was this:  I created the most amazing bruschetta I have ever tasted in my entire life!   Even though it is the dead of winter, all I could taste was the flavor of summer as I bit into these delicious multi-grain veggie delights. What started out as an appetizer became my meal because it was delicious, filling, easy, and good for you as well.

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 15 minutes.

Ingredients
1 large or 2 small Roma tomatoes
3/4 cup cherry or Zima tomatoes sliced in half
2 tbsp sundried tomato paste
1 tbsp minced garlic
1/3 cup fresh cilantro
1/2 cup red onion
1/2 cup yellow, orange, or red bell pepper
1 tbsp pesto
1 tsp fresh lime juice
1 avocado
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp Tuscan Herb Olive Oil (I purchase mine at The Crushed Olive)
Hearty multi-grain bread of your choice

Directions
Slice pepper, onion, and cilantro and place in a food processor.
Add garlic, sundried tomato paste, and pesto to the food processor.
Pulse the mixture until well blended.
Heat oil in saucepan over medium heat.
Add tomatoes and all ingredients in the food processor.
Add salt and pepper to taste.
Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until onion and peppers are cooked well.
Meanwhile, cut avocado into bite-sized pieces.
Drizzle oil over multi-grain bread and broil on high until browned.
Turn bread to toast on both sides.
Add vegetable blend to toast, and top with avocado bites.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

