Crock Pot Apple Crisp

Wait to you smell your kitchen!

Wait to you smell your kitchen!

Ok, it’s official!  I am obsessed with Pinterest.  I know that I have been behind everyone when it comes to this web 2.0 tool, but I knew myself well enough to know that if I got started that I wouldn’t be able to stop…. and yes, that is exactly what has happened.  Something else I am obsessed with right now is the crock pot.  I asked for a larger crock pot for Christmas, so now I have two.  Put two crock pots and Pinterest together, and I have just about lost control.

Click the image above to see what I am thinking about making next!

Click the image to see what I am thinking about making next!

I modified this recipe from Karen Peterson’s blog that I found on Pinterest and decided to try it completely out of curiosity because it seemed so simple. It is tasty – especially if you need a quick and simple dessert and don’t have time to make a grocery run. Make sure to have vanilla ice cream on hand!

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 3 hours 10 minutes.

Ingredients
6 apples (use what you have on hand, but tart are generally better.)
2/3 c old-fashioned oats
2/3 c flour
2/3 c packed light brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup butter softened, not margarine

Directions
Peel and cut apples into bite-sized pieces, and add to crock pot.
Combine oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla extract in medium mixing bowl.
Cut in softened butter until mixture is crumbly, and sprinkle over apples.
Cover crock pot with 2-3 paper towels.
Place lid firmly over paper towels to absorb moisture.
Cook on high for 2-3 hours, until apples are soft.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

