Chicken and Dumplings

Comfort food at its finest!  These dumplings transported me back to my childhood.

Comfort food at its finest! These dumplings transported me back to my childhood.

No one can make chicken and dumplings like my grandmother could.  She would start with a whole chicken and let it stew all day with butter, chicken broth, salt, pepper, and flour, and then she would make her own biscuit dough to add to the pot about an hour before dinner.  I can remember watching her make chicken and dumplings as a child, but I didn’t realize then that I should pay more attention and ask lots of questions so that I could reproduce one of her signature dishes.

Over the years, I have tasted many different types of chicken and dumplings, but none have come anywhere close to my grandmother’s recipe.  However, with the help of several online recipes, I have devised a recipe that is so close to my grandmother’s that it made me smile.

My recipe is much healthier since I only use chicken breasts, rather than the whole chicken with skin, and it is much easier.

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 6 hours. (5 minutes prep time)

This recipe requires very little prep time but tastes like you worked all day.

This recipe requires very little prep time but tastes like you worked all day.

Ingredients
2 lbs chicken breasts
2 tbsp butter
1/8 cup all-purpose flour
1 small can chicken broth
1/4 cup water
2 cans cream of chicken soup (I used one low sodium)
1 tbsp parsley
1 tsp black pepper
2 1/2 tbsp minced onion
6 frozen Grands biscuits

Directions
Place chicken breasts evenly in the bottom of a crock pot.
Cut butter into pats and evenly distribute on top of chicken breasts.
In a medium bowl, stir together all remaining ingredients except biscuits.
Pour over chicken, cover, and cook on high for five hours.
Meanwhile, spray wax paper with Pam.
Place six biscuits on wax paper.
Spray another sheet of wax paper with Pam, and place over the biscuits to allow to thaw and rise.
After five hours, take a fork and gently pull chicken breasts into pieces.
After chicken is separated into bite-sized pieces, cut biscuits into fourths and drop into dumplings.
Cover and continue cooking on high for 1 hour.
Serve in bowls.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Beverly Snowden says:

    Going to try this one over the weekend! Thanks for sharing! YUM!

  2. I made this for dinner this week and Jim and the kids LOVED it! Thank you for sharing your recipes!

Leave a Reply

