Tender London Broil

This London Broil is comfort food at its finest.

This London Broil is comfort food at its finest.

It’s not often that I can whip up a new meal that takes me back to my childhood in a vivid way. This London Broil recipe does just that. My mother and grandmother used to make incredible roasts, stew beef dishes, and other rich comfort foods. I can vividly recall the taste, the smell, and the sight of those wonderful, home-cooked meals that brought us all to the table in anticipation. I am lucky when I can prepare a meal that brings all that imagery flooding back.

I found this recipe on Pinterest, my new obsession, and then modified it to suit our tastes.

I have never had what I would consider “tender” London Broil.  To me, it has always seemed a tougher cut of meat.  This recipe changes all that.  Not only is the meat tender and juicy, but the broth makes an incredibly tasty gravy for your potatoes.  This meal will certainly become a staple.

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 5 minutes prep time and 6-8 hours cooking time.

Ingredients
2-3 lbs. London Broil
1 can Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 can Campbell’s Tomato Soup
1 package Lipton Beefy Onion dry soup mix
2 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
3 tbsp. dry red wine (I used Ruffino Chianti Classico because it was open.)
1 tbsp. minced garlic

Directions
Place London Broil in bottom of crock pot.
Mix remaining ingredients in a bowl until well blended.
Pour over beef.
Cook on low for 6-8 hours until tender.
Serve with whipped red potatoes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

