French Toast Casserole

Delicious for breakfast or for a dessert served with vanilla ice cream.

Delicious for breakfast or for a dessert served with vanilla ice cream.

I have always loved French Toast.  I can remember my mother making French Toast in a skillet on the stove, and I used to order it everywhere I found it on the menu.  The Cottage House on Highway 268 in North Wilkesboro had the most interesting and amazing French Toast when I was growing up.  To this day, I don’t know what gave the toast its coffee-brown color and crunchy texture on the outside.  Inside, the crunchy toast was as soft as freshly baked bread.  Boy, I would love that recipe.

Today, I tried my first French Toast Casserole, and it was wonderful.  My first thought was that this could be served as a bread pudding with a side of ice cream rather than syrup.  I am going to try this on some friends at our next gathering.  Bon appetit!

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 60-75 minutes.

Ingredients

1 loaf french bread, cut into bite-sized cubes
8 oz. low-fat cream cheese, cubed
12 eggs
2 cups milk
2/3 cup syrup
2 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat oven to 375ºF.
Spray 13 x 9 casserole dish with nonstick spray.
In a small mixing bowl, mix together sugar and cinnamon.
Put half of the cubed bread into the bottom of the casserole dish.
Cover with the cream cheese cubes and half of cinnamon sugar mixture.
Cover with remaining bread cubes.
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and syrup.
Pour mixture over bread.
Sprinkle top with remaining sugar mixture.
Cover and refrigerate overnight.
Bake for 45-60 minutes.
If you shake pan and the bread jiggles, bake a little longer.
Serve hot with syrup.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

