Walnut Brownie Pie

If you like chocolate and walnuts, you will love this pie.

If you like chocolate and walnuts, you will love this pie.

When I was in college at Western Carolina University from 1991-1995, one of my favorite things to do my freshman year was to get in the car and drive to Waynesville, NC with my friends Jeff Dillard, Pam Ward, and Robert Evans.  We would go to the Shoney’s Restaurant and order dessert.  I always ordered the Hot Fudge Walnut Brownie with ice cream.  I can’t begin to tell you how many laughs we had over dessert and how much these three young people meant to me my first year in college.  We were innocent, silly, and ready to take on the world.  Pam, Jeff, and Robert were my first college friends.  My memories of our time together are priceless.

Over the past 22 years, I have often been reminded of these late night treks to Shoney’s in Waynesville when I have eaten rich and decadent chocolate desserts.  However, sometime during the mid-90s, Shoney’s stopped carrying the brownie on its menu, and I have not had anything like it in two decades.  All that changed today as I searched for a new pie recipe so I could use the pie crust in my refrigerator.  I was limited by the few ingredients I have in the cabinets, and my search was proving futile, until I stumbled upon this recipe.

It looked easy and delicious, and I had all the ingredients!  Little did I know that upon first bite I would be transported back 22 years to those late night jaunts to Waynesville for dessert.  This pie, without a doubt, is an almost perfect reproduction of my favorite Shoney’s dessert – Hot Fudge Walnut Brownie.  Not only is the pie unbelievably easy and delicious, but the nostalgia was better than the dessert.  🙂

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 1 hour 15 minutes.

Ingredients
1 9 inch pie shell
2 eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions
Preheat oven until 325 degrees.
Dust both sides of the crust with flour.
Add sugar and brown sugar until well blended.
Add flour and blend well.
Blend in melted butter and vanilla.
Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts
Pour into shell.
Bake one hour.
Serve warm with ice cream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

