Mac’s Chocolate Pie

Mac's Chocolate Pie is delicious.

My grandparents and parents loved K&W Cafeteria more than anyone I know. Anytime we went to Winston-Salem, Charlotte, or Myrtle Beach, you could bet your bottom dollar that a trip (or several) to K&W were in the near future. One of the things I loved about going to the K&W with my grandparents was the chocolate pie. I just loved it. I loved the crust, the consistency of the chocolate, and the whipped cream. To this day, I love their chocolate pie. Well, let’s clarify… I love any and all chocolate pie.

However, I do discriminate. Some chocolate pies are better than others. Last week, when I cut my hand on the cranberry sauce can, my friend Cheryl came to my house to pick me up to take me to get stitches. After the fiasco, she held out a fork to me and said, “Here… taste this.” It was her father’s chocolate pie. I could not believe how delicious this pie was. I said, “You have GOT to make this, and get me the recipe for the blog!” And so, she did. We enjoyed this pie on Thursday night with Kevin and John.

Hats off to Mac Warren. K&W has nothing on him!

From start to finish, this recipe will approximately 40 minutes.

Mac and his girls enjoy vacation together.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups evaporated milk
1 1/2 cups whole milk
4 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp butter or margarine
2 pie crusts

Directions

Bake two pie crusts per directions.
Mix all dry ingredients in a sauce pan using a wire whisk.
Put milk and egg yolk in a blender and mix slightly.
Pour the milk mixture into the dry mixture and blend using a wire whisk.
Bring to a gentle boil, stirring constantly for 3 – 5 minutes.
Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and butter.
Pour into the two baked pie crusts, and refrigerate, if not going to serve immediately.
Top with whipped cream or Cool Whip.
(If desired, egg whites can be used to make a meringue topping.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

