St. Alban’s Mounds Cake

Besides just a good old fashioned pound cake, St. Alban's Mounds Cake is my favorite!

When I was pregnant with Jackson, nine years ago, I craved the strangest things — country-style steak with mashed potatoes and green beans, anything chocolate, and real Coke.  I guess this explains why I gained 59 pounds and had a 10 pound 5 ounce baby!  Whew!

One Sunday, we had a dinner at the church I was attending at the time , St. Alban’s Episcopal Church in Hickory, and my eyes seized upon one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen – a chocolate cake with fluffy, white goodness atop.  I made a beeline for the cake, and upon first taste, I was absolutely smitten.  I spent the next several minutes asking everyone in sight the million dollar question, “Do you know who made that cake?”  I began to get a bit frantic when it seemed I would never find anyone who knew who had made this ambrosia!

Finally, I asked a lovely lady who told me that it was she who was the baker of the cake!  I let out a sigh of relief and asked with no shame, “Can I get the recipe?”  She was a lovely lady, and I remember that we went through confirmation together.  Yet, sadly, I cannot recall her name.  However, I still make her Mounds Cake and now call it St. Alban’s Mounds Cake in honor of the place I discovered this delicious, easy dessert that will make your family or guests swoon.  I can guarantee that it will be the most moist cake you ever bake and perhaps the most delicious.

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 45 minutes.  Allow cake to set overnight before serving.

Ingredients

1 2-layer chocolate fudge cake mix
14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
6 oz. can cream of coconut **
16 oz. Cool Whip (you will not use the entire container)
7 oz. package frozen coconut flakes

**Find this item in the grocery where mixed drink essentials are shelved.

Directions

Bake cake using package directions in a 9×13 pan.
Remove cake from oven, and use a toothpick or fork to poke holes in top of cake. (Approximately 75-100 holes)
In a bowl, combine sweetened condensed milk and cream of coconut.
Pour mixture over cake evenly.
Cool completely
Top with Cook Whip and then coconut flakes.
Chill overnight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

