Fonda’s Famous Chex Mix

Holiday guests love party mix!

Every family has its own special version of holiday party mix. I have tried different party mix recipes at various friends’ homes and Christmas parties. When I was a teacher, students would sometimes bring party mix to me as a Christmas gift. And, I must admit, party mix is my biggest holiday weakness. For many people, fudge, peanut butter balls, and other holiday sweets are their downfall. Not me. I would turn down all the sweets in the world for my mother’s special twist on “Original Chex Party Mix.”

I can remember as a child sitting by the Christmas tree with my legs folded beneath my nightgown watching the multi-colored blinking lights on the tree as I munched on my bowl of my mom’s party mix. As a teenager, my friends Brian, Tammy, Shannon, Wendy, Beth, and many others who drifted in and out of my house during those formative years were recipients of my mom’s party mix — whether we were watching Saturday Night Live, playing card games, or just visiting, my mom’s party mix has not changed over the years. It is a constant, delicious reminder of holidays past.

That being said, last week, my mom and dad visited and brought me a huge jar if party mix. I am embarrassed to say that in less than 48 hours, I had eaten it all! Yum! So, in the spirit of Christmas giving, I share with you my mother’s recipe for party mix.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you approximately 1 hour 15 minutes.

Ingredients

3 cups Corn Chex
3 cups Rice Chex
3 cups Wheat Chex
1 1/2 cups Cheerios
1 1/2 cups Goldfish
1 cup bite-sized pretzels
2 cups mixed nuts
1 cup pecan halves

1 stick margarine
3 tbsp Worcestershire
2 tsp seasoning salt
1 tsp garlic powder

Directions

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
Mix cereals, Goldfish, pretzels, and nuts in a large bowl.
Melt margarine in microwave, and stir in seasonings and Worcestershire.
Pour margarine mixture over cereal blend while stirring constantly to distribute liquid well.
Spread mix in a thin, single layer on several baking sheets.
Bake at 250 for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.
Spread on paper towels to cool.
Store in airtight container.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fonda’s Famous Chex Mix

  1. Pingback: Coconut Balls | Cooking by the Water

Leave a Reply

