Cranberry Salad

Delicous and light, cranberry salad is the perfect holiday dessert.

My cousin Sherry McGuire has a couple of recipes that I absolutely love.  I have the opportunity to enjoy her incredible cranberry salad at Thanksgiving and Christmas each year.  This year, however, our family did not have the opportunity to have our traditional Thanksgiving meal, so here in mid-December, I felt a longing for cranberry salad.  So, I set out to make it for myself.

If you know me and keep up with me on Facebook, then you know where this story is going.  In my attempt to open the can of cranberry sauce, I sustained serious injuries to my hand and index finger — so serious, in fact, that I had to have 9 stitches!  Ouch!  Some of you left me some pretty clever messages such as this one:  “Who knew cranberry could fight back!”  Well, I am here to tell you that cranberry may have won the battle, but I did win the war.  The day after I sustained my injury, I marched back into the kitchen, and I made that cranberry salad, and it was the best cranberry salad in the entire world!

One great thing about this recipe is that it is low in fat yet tastes great!  Just be careful opening the can!

From start to finish, this recipe will take you approximately 2 hours.  However, prep time is only approximately 15 minutes.

Ingredients
2 3 oz. packages Jello brand cherry jello (sugar-free can be substituted)
1 16 oz. can of crushed pineapple (separate and save 1/2 cup pineapple juice)
1 20 oz. can whole cranberry sauce
1 8 oz. package lite cream cheese
1/3 cup finely chopped pecans
1 tbsp lite mayo


Directions

Drain pineapple and save 1/2 cup juice.
Dissolve jello in 2 cups boiling water.
Stir in pineapple and cranberry sauce.
Pour 1/2 mixture into a 9×13 casserole dish and refrigerate until firm (about an hour).
Let other half of mixture sit at room temperature.
Meanwhile use a hand mixer to mix cream cheese, mayo, pineapple juice, and pecans.
Spread cream cheese mixture over chilled gelatin mixture.
Refrigerate 10 minutes.
Pour room temperature mixture over cream cheese layer.
Refrigerate until well set.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

