Low Country Black Beans and Rice

If you are looking for a healthy, easy, inexpensive, and delicious dinner, try my Low Country Black Beans and Rice.

Monday, I had lunch with Vickie Cameron, the Executive Director of Curriculum and Instruction in Mt. Airy City Schools.  She took me to Goober’s 52.  The menu was incredible and eclectic.  There were pages of offerings, and they all looked amazing!

However, I am trying so hard to make healthy eating choices, so I just had the side order of Black Beans and Rice and some grilled vegetables.  I was feeling rather sorry for myself — that is … until my food arrived.  These were, without a doubt, the best black beans and rice I have ever eaten…UNTIL TONIGHT!

These are the black beans and rice that inspired my quest.

Once I arrived back home, I made it my mission to go online and find a recipe that I thought had all the ingredients that I tasted in Goober’s dish.  And…I did it.  I have made the most amazing black beans and rice ever.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!

From start to finish, this recipe will take you approximately 25 minutes.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped green pepper
3 cloves of minced garlic
2 (15 ounce) cans Bush’s Black Beans Seasoned Recipe (undrained)
1 1/2 cups water
2 teaspoons oregano
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 chicken bouillon cube
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
2 cups Jasmine rice (prepared according to directions on package)
Salsa or Pico de Gallo of your choice

Directions
Heat oil in a medium sauce pan, sauté onion,green pepper, and garlic until tender – approximately 8 minutes.
Add in remaining ingredients and stir until boiling, reduce heat and simmer until sauce is reduced – approximately 15 minutes.
Serve over white rice.
Add salsa or pico de gallo

This recipe is modified from Dawn’s Classic Black Beans and Rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

