No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

These cookies are easy to make and absolutely delicious!

When I was in elementary school, we had a morning break every day.  During that time the cafeteria sold cookies and a version of these No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  They were cut into thick squares, and each only cost a quarter and weighed a half pound!  They were delicious with a box of milk.  I can still remember taking break orders on paper, taking up the money, and walking with a classmate to the cafeteria to make our purchases.  Ever since then, I have loved these cookies that go by many names:  Boiled Cookies, No Bake Cookies, Choco-Oatmeal Chews, and the list goes on.

This recipe, however, came from Pauline Hendrix from Hays, NC.  My mother and Pauline attend the same church.  Mom had these cookies at a church event and got the recipe.  She made them, and once I tasted her first batch, nostalgia washed over me, and I recalled quite vividly my anticipation of those days some 30 years ago when I would eat these same cookies during morning break at school.  This recipe tastes just like the cookies of my youth.  I hope you enjoy them!

From start to finish, this recipe will take approximately 20-25 minutes.

A glass of cold milk pairs well with these delicious treats.

Ingredients

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup milk
1 stick margarine
4 tbsp cocoa
2 1/2 cups quick 1-minute oatmeal
1/2 cup chopped peanuts
2 tsp. vanilla flavoring
1/2 cup peanut butter

Directions

Bring sugar, margarine, milk, and cocoa to a boil over medium high heat.for 1 1/2 minutes
Begin timing when mixture comes to a boil, and cook for 1 1/2 minutes.
Remove from heat and add uncooked oatmeal.
Stir in nuts, peanut butter, and vanilla.
Stir until well blended.
Spoon to wax paper.
Allow to sit at room temperature for 30 minutes or until well set.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Robin Loflin Smith says:

    Heather, these cookies take me back, too. Just the thought of them waiting for me in the elementary cafeteria was enough to spur me on through a long morning. Thanks for including them. I’ll have to wait until I have guests, though, so I don’t eat the whole pan!

Leave a Reply

