Old Fashioned Squash Casserole

Squash casserole is great as a side with any good Southern meal.

I don’t remember the first time I ever had my mother’s squash casserole, and I have never met anyone else but my mother who makes this rich, entirely Southern dish. However, much to my surprise, when I asked my mom about the recipe, she shared that Mae Hayes Bowers, my grandmother Larmie’s sister, passed this recipe to her.
.
My earliest memories of Mae and her daughter Connie were at their convenience store and auto shop on Mountain View Road. When we would take our car to Walsh Tire for minor service, my dad would let me go into the store and get a drink and snack. Of all my grandmother’s sisters, Mae and my grandmother resembled each other most. And…like my Ma Ma, Mae sure could cook!

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about an hour.

Ingredients
2 lb. squash
¾ stick margarine
1 can Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup
½ pint sour cream
1 medium carrot grated
½ medium onion finely chopped
1- 8 oz. pkg. Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing
1 tsp black pepper

Directions
Cut squash into disks and add to saucepan with ½ cup water.
Simmer/steam on medium low until squash is soft.
Drain squash.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Combine all ingredients in bowl, saving a small amount of stuffing for crunchy topping.
Pour mixture into greased baking dish.
Top with remaining stuffing.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until casserole bubbles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

