Easy Hummus

For a easy, delicious hummus, this recipe is the best!

I love hummus, and I have a few different hummus recipes. Hummus is one of those things that has to be served fresh. No matter how many pre-packaged brands or flavors of hummus I buy in the store, they just aren’t good to me. I LOVE the hummus at the Olde Hickory Tap Room in downtown Hickory, NC. However, I do warn you that their hummus is so heavy on the garlic that I advise you keep a 5-foot distance from colleagues, family, and friends for at least 48-hours!
.
This hummus recipe is from my friend, Dr. Brian Sebastian. Brian and I in became close friends in high school, and we have remained friends ever since. He now lives in Sonoma, California. I was fortunate enough to visit him in Sonoma this past January.
.
The first time Brian made this hummus for me, he was in med school at Duke, and I came down to spend the week with him for my Teaching Fellows senior conference. You will notice that the recipe does not call for tahini. The verdict is still out on tahini. I can’t decide if it truly makes a hummus better or not. However, I can still remember how much I enjoyed this simple and delicious treat at Brian’s condo in Durham so many years ago.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 5 minutes.

Simply Naked Pita Chips are the perfect companion to Easy Hummus.

Ingredients
2 cans garbanzo beans (1 drained, 1 undrained)
Juice of 3 fresh lemons
1-2 tbsps minced garlic
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
olive oil and paprika for garnish
.
Directions
Add all ingredients (except oil and paprika) to a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.
When ready to serve, top with 1 tbsp olive oil and paprika.

Serve with warm pita or pita chips.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Hummus

  1. Gina says:

    I would have to add some roasted red peppers to this. I am going to have to try this one.

    • Heather Mullins says:

      We just talked yesterday about how roasted red peppers would make this great! You know we think alike!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

