Strawberry Dessert

Shannon's Strawberry Dessert is the perfect summertime treat.

One of my best friends in high school was Shannon Brown Massengill. To this day, no one in this world has ever made me laugh the way Shannon could. She has this wonderful wit and just cracks jokes constantly that used to keep me in stitches. I can still remember times that I would laugh until my sides cramped and I would be begging Shannon to stop!

One of our biggest pipe dreams was that we were going to get a “big bunch of people” to go cruising in Elkin in my 1985 Ford Ranger. Although we talked about this dream weekly, it never came to fruition. What usually did happen was that Shannon, Monica Church, and I would end up cruising Elkin in Monica’s Beretta. What larks!

I love this super simple recipe for Shannon’s Strawberry Dessert. It is simple, light, and delicious.  The quintessential summer dessert, everyone will love this summer treat! Plus, every time I make Shannon’s Strawberry Dessert, I think about how much fun we used to have 22 years ago when life was simpler and our most pressing priority was getting our “big bunch of people” together for our Saturday night trip to cruise in Elkin!

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 20 minutes. (This dessert is best if assembled the day before served.)

Ingredients
2 lbs. strawberries cut into bite-sized pieces
1 pkg. strawberry glaze

16 oz. Lite Cool Whip
1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 pre-made Angel Food Cake

Directions
Wash and cut strawberries and mix with glaze. Set aside.
Pull angel food cake into small, bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
In a medium-sized bowl, stir Cool Whip, powdered sugar, and sweetened condensed milk until well-blended.
Fold in cake gently.
Cover with strawberry mixture.
Chill in refrigerator overnight before serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

