Ma Ma Pendry’s Cabbage

Cabbage is a delicious, healthy, and affordable vegetable side.

My grandmother loved hot peppers. She would grow these hot red peppers on a little tree, pick them, and eat them. Although I LOVE hot food, I could never eat the hot peppers raw. I tried one time, and I never thought my mouth would ever be the same. Ma Ma just laughed at me!
.
However, when she cooked with the hot peppers, they gave food such a great flavor. To this day, I still make my cabbage, just like my Ma Ma, with hot red peppers. I usually buy my dried red peppers in the Hispanic foods section, but when Ali went to Houston in February, she brought me back a HUGE bag of authentic Mexican dried peppers.
.

Steamed to perfection! Stir and serve.

My family loves cabbage with Mexican Cornbread or with Picnic Pulled Barbecue.

A word of warning: After chopping your dried peppers, wash your hands thoroughly with warm water and soap. Be careful to avoid your eyes!

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 20 minutes.

Ingredients
1 cup water
1 medium to large head of cabbage
1 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
1 1/2 tsp coarse black pepper
2-3 chopped dried hot Mexican red peppers

Directions
Pour water in bottom of large pot.
Chop cabbage into bite-sized pieces and add to water.
Add oil, salt, pepper, and dried peppers.
Cover and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat to low and continue simmering for about 20 minutes, until cabbage is tender.
Stir well and serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ma Ma Pendry’s Cabbage

  1. Ali says:

    Ali’s 4 Star Rating: I don’t even like cabbage but this is great! I have eaten more than one serving of this and I can’t wait to make it for my mom who does like cabbage!

  2. Pingback: Jackson’s Favorite Meatloaf | Cooking by the Water

Leave a Reply

