Homestyle Banana Bread

Moist and Delicious!

I make my Banana Bread using the same recipe as my Perfect Pumpkin Bread, but I just omit the cinnamon. Everything else remains exactly the same. Last weekend, Ali Siverly, my neighbor, had loads of bananas and decided to do a Banana Bread Challenge. She made two banana bread recipes — mine and Betty Crocker’s (ominous music plays in background).
.
Ali modified my recipe just a touch, but we all did the taste test and decided that my recipe was the victor! If you are interested in the differences, my bread is moist and tastes more like a dessert. Old Betty’s Banana Bread is much more “bread-like” and less sweet. I will admit that I like the crumb topping on Old Betty’s bread. So, you will just have to try them both to see which you like best.
.

Ali loves her Penzey's Spices/

Ali said, “I halved the recipe from the Perfect Pumpkin Bread. I used three bananas, and I used two Penzey’s Spices. I used one teaspoon of cinnamon and one teaspoon of baking spice. I also used Walnuts instead of pecans.”
.
Below you will find my original banana bread recipe.
.
From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 80-90 minutes.

Ingredients
I cup water
2/3 cup oil
4 eggs beaten
1 1/2 cups mashed banana
2 tsp vanilla flavoring
2 cups granulated sugar
3 cups self-rising flour
2/3 – 1 cup chopped pecans

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Sift flour and sugar into mixing bowl.
Add remaining ingredients.
Stir until well blended.
Pour into greased bread-baking pans.

Bake at 350 degrees…
For 2 large loaves, cook for 1 hour 15 minutes.
For 3 medium loaves, cook for 1 hour.
For 6 small loaves, cook for 40-45 minutes.
Check with toothpick.
Serve warm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

