Scotcheroos

Chewy and delicious

When I was a kid, my mom (Fonda Pendry) would always make a big pan of Scotcheroos to take to the beach. She would also make a big pan of brownies. Every day, I would come into the freezing cold condo to make myself a sandwich for lunch, and I couldn’t wait until I could get my Scotcheroo. What was often disturbing was when I would go to the Tupperware container, and the Scotcheroos would be gone because my dad had devoured them.

 

I love to make my mom's recipes, but they always taste better when she makes them for me.

I don’t know anyone but my mother who makes these treats. However, she received the recipe from her colleague Marie Harris, former third grade teacher at Mountain View Elementary School.

 

If you like peanut butter, and you like chewy treats, you will LOVE Scotcheroos. You will never go back to Rice Krispie Treats ever again.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 10-12 minutes.

Ingredients
1 cup light Karo syrup
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup Jif peanut butter
6 cups Rice Krispies

The secret to chewy Scotcheroos just barely bringing the syrup and sugar to a boil while constantly stirring.

Directions
Grease a 9×13 baking pan with Pam.
Over medium heat, mix sugar and syrup, stirring constantly. **
Immediately, when mixture just begins to boil, remove from heat.
Stir in peanut butter until well blended.
Fold in Rice Krispies.
Press evenly into baking pan.
Cool for at least 30 minutes before cutting into squares to serve.
.
**The key to this recipe is to make sure you do NOT overboil the syrup/sugar mixture. If the mixture is brought to a full boil, Scotcheroos will harden and not be chewy and delicious.
.
Stirring the syrup and sugar constantly for about five minutes is imperative to the success of this recipe.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scotcheroos

  1. Ali says:

    Ali’s 4 Star Rating: These were so yummy! I have never had rice crispy treats that were this yummy before! You will never make the regular ones again!

Leave a Reply

