Saphrona’s Lemon Pound Cake

You can almost see how light and moist this cake is.

Having such wonderful pound cake at Jennifer’s house on Sunday (see “Shaw-Nuf” Pound Cake), I decided that I needed a pound cake of my own. One of the best memories of my childhood was trying all the wonderful desserts at Sunday afternoon church dinners at Maple Grove Baptist Church, the church of my youth. One of my favorite cakes was Saphrona “Fronie” Whitley’s Lemon Pound Cake.
.
What I like best about this cake is the perfect flavor combination of lemon and vanilla. Although this cake is a pound cake, which we typically expect to be somewhat heavy, this recipe produces a light and moist cake that I think is just right. I have modified Fronie’s recipe just a bit, but I think you will love it. Below, I will share both her original recipe as well as my changes.
.
From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

 

Golden and Delicious

Ingredients
4 eggs (5 in original recipe)
2 3/4 cups granulated sugar
1 cup Crisco
1 stick margarine
2 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (3 cups in original recipe)
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup milk
3 tbsp lemon flavoring (4 tbsp in original recipe)
1 tbsp vanilla flavoring (no vanilla in original recipe)
.
Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Mix all ingredients except flour.
Beat well.
Add flour and mix well.
Pour in a greased and floured tube pan.
Bake at 325 for 1 hour 25 minutes.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saphrona’s Lemon Pound Cake

  1. Jennifer H says:

    I usually follow recipes to the letter, however, I do not own a bunt or tube pan. Would this cake work if I baked it in a bread pan? And if so how would you change the baking time?

  2. Heather Mullins says:

    Good question, Jennifer! I do not know the answer as I have never prepared a pound cake in anything other than a tube pan or bundt. I will have to play with it. I would assume the bake time would be a little longer as heat cannot access the center as quickly. I would bake for the time on the recipe, check, and add time at 5-10 minute intervals. Hope this helps! Let me know what you think of the cake.

  3. Ali says:

    Ali’s 5 Star Rating: This was so good and I had leftovers!

Leave a Reply

