Firehouse Marinade

Ed Stanford MAY have solved the mystery!

When I published Mystery Marinade on February 28, 2011, I believed that I might never know how the concoction was made.  However, last week, I received a comment from Ed Stanford of Wilkes who believes he had experienced first-hand the same marinade I loved. And…even more importantly, HE HAS THE RECIPE.

I met Ed Stanford in 1999 when he and his wife Cathy moved from Pennsylvania to Wilkesboro.  Cathy and I taught together at North Wilkes High School in Hays, NC, where she still teaches English today.

I don't know how it tastes, but this marinade smells delicious!

According to Ed, “Grilled chicken with this marinade is awesome. I’ve been tempted to throw Hickory chips on the grill when I’m grilling these to give them even more of a ‘firehouse’ bbq feel, but haven’t done so yet… Our neighbor Brandy made this for some chicken we were going to grill a while back, and I HAD to have the recipe.”

I marinated chicken in this concoction, and it was not bad. The sauce had more of a vinegar taste than I really prefer. It was pretty good, but it was not the same recipe as the mystery marinade I had in Cary!

The search continues!!!!

Firehouse Marinade is made with ingredients found in most kitchens.

Ingredients

1 cup apple cider vinegar
4 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp Tabasco
2/3 tsp red pepper
2/3 tsp chili powder
1/8 tsp black pepper
1 tbs salt
dash garlic powder
1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions

Bring all ingredients to a boil, and then let the mixture cool.
Add 1-2 tablespoons of butter or oil to the mixture before marinating meat.
Marinade will keep better in refrigerator without butter or oil.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

