“Shaw-Nuf” Pound Cake

The hint of almond in this cake was perfectly paired with fresh berries.

I haven’t met a pound cake that I did not like.  It all starts with the smell of the baking cake.  You just can’t beat it.  No Yankee Candle could replicate the aroma of that freshly baking bunt of love.  You can add lemon flavoring, plain vanilla, throw in some chocolate, or add almond.  It does not matter to me.  I love all pound cake, every single bite.  The pound cake that I had Sunday at Jennifer Griffin’s house was no exception.

Jennifer is my partner in crime, curriculum, and cruising around on Lake Hickory.

.

I am very lucky in that my partner at work is also one of the best friends I have ever had. We work together well, and we play together well.   Jennifer baked the perfect pound cake on Sunday afternoon, and when I asked her about it, she said, “It reminds me of being little and eating cake at my grandmother’s house.” What a lovely memory! The next time I think of pound cake, I will think of this cake at Jennifer’s house on on a rainy and lazy Sunday afternoon with a great group of ladies.

From start to finish, this recipe will take you about 2 hours and 15 minutes.

Moist and delicious.

Ingredients
2 cups butter softened
3 cups sugar
6 eggs
4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup milk
1 tsp almond extract
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
In a large mixing bowl, cream butter until fluffy.
Gradually add sugar, beating until light and fluffy – about 5 minutes.
Add eggs one at a time, beating until yolk is blended after each addition.
Alternate adding flour and milk – beginning and ending with flour until just blended.
Stir in extracts.
Pour batter into a greased and floured 10-inch tube pan.
Bake at 325 degrees for about 1 hour and 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.
Cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Shaw-Nuf” Pound Cake

  1. Ali says:

    Ali 5 Star Rating: This was so yummy! I can’t wait to make it myself!

  2. Pingback: Saphrona’s Lemon Pound Cake | Cooking by the Water

Leave a Reply

