Mystery Marinade

No labels on the mystery marinade.

In a not-to-be named, non-descript cul-de-sac, in Wilkesboro, NC, God’s nectar is served in gallon plastic jugs.  This spicy cavalcade of flavors does a tango with your taste buds!  In true mountain style, use the honor system and place $15 in the cardboard box on the card table in the garage, and you too can slip away with your gallon of ambrosia.  Yes, it is true!

My friend Steven Roten explained that he learned about this fantastic marinade from his brother.  When he experienced the unique, illusive flavor for the first time, he compared it to the nostalgic memory of the fire department barbecue of his youth.

This evening, I am dining with my dear friends, Steven and Laura Roten, in Cary, NC.  We are having Steven’s Mystery Marinade Pork Tenderloin.  As he described to me the delicious flavor and the clandestine experience of arranging the pick up, I was mesmerized.

Steven fights the rain and smoke to bring the pork in.

The smell of the grill beckons me!

Can you tell how good I think this marinade is???

I wish I could give you directions and ingredients, but the ingredients remain a MYSTERY!  However, I am leaving my $15 with Steven so that he can purchase my first gallon of mystery marinade!  I can’t wait!

Dinner is served!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mystery Marinade

  1. Ed says:

    i may have a lead on this mystery marinade….have to see if i can dig up the recipe….was given to me billed as “firehouse marinade”

    • Ed says:

      Found it!

      try this……

      1 cup apple cider vinegar
      4 tbs worcestershire sauce
      1 tbs tabasco
      2/3 tsp red pepper
      2/3 tsp chili powder
      1/8 tsp black pepper
      1 tbs salt
      dash garlic powder
      1/2 tsp lemon juice

      bring all ingredients to a boil and then let cool

      add tablespoon or 2 of butter or oil to mix before marinating meat.
      will keep better in fridge without butter or oil in it

      • Heather Mullins says:

        Ed, this is so very exciting! You can be sure that I WILL try this recipe! Wow!

        Have you tried it?

  2. Ed says:

    Grilled chicken with this marinade is awesome. I’ve been tempted to throw hickory chips on the grill when I’m grilling these to give them even more of a “firehouse” bbq feel, but haven’t done so yet.

    Our neighbor Brandy made this for some chicken we were going to grill a while back and I HAD to have the recipe. I’ve never made more then what this recipe makes (about a cup and a half) though….

  3. Pingback: Firehouse Marinade | Cooking by the Water

Leave a Reply

