Larmie’s Pancakes

My Ma Ma Pendry was an incredible cook.

One of my favorite memories of my childhood and even my adulthood is watching my grandmother mix up the ingredients to her homemade pancakes and then enjoying them.

I love pancakes, and I can assure you that I have ordered pancakes at numerous restaurants over the past (almost four) decades. However, no pancake is nearly as delicious as those my grandmother taught me to make.

The next generation of Pendry pancake eaters!

What makes these pancakes even better is watching Jackson enjoy them with the same gusto that I did all those years ago.

From start to finish this recipe will take you about 20 minutes.

Ingredients
1 large egg
2 cups buttermilk
1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
Pam cooking spray

The "fork test" will help you determine the right consistency of the batter.

Directions
Preheat griddle to 400 degrees.
Whisk egg and stir in buttermilk.
Using a fork, carefully blend in flour until batter is well mixed but still has a few lumps.
Test batter by pulling fork out of the batter. Look for a slow drip.
If batter sticks to fork completely, add more buttermilk.
Immediately before pouring pancake batter on griddle, use cooking spray on the surface to ensure pancakes do not stick.

When air bubbles form, it is time to turn the cakes.

Allow to cook 3-4 minutes, until small bubbles form on the top of the batter.

Turn only once.

Cook on opposite side for 2-3 minutes until batter is cooked through.

Serve with butter and your favorite syrup.
Variations include adding chocolate chips or blueberries.

Makes approximately 8-10 pancakes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Larmie’s Pancakes

  1. Michael says:

    Heather I remember well the pancakes Mama used to make! Reading your recipe I just recalled how she made them. I remember her fixing them on that large griddle in the kitchen. Oh what memories! Breakfast was always a great time on Saturdays.

    • Heather Mullins says:

      Michael, those were good times. Do you remember how she would also buy that Bell’s sausage in a can, and it was all runny? Looking back it seemed so gross, but I LOVED it. I never ate that stuff anywhere but at Ma Ma’s house, and I thought it was perfect. I wish we could go back and have just one of those long, lazy summer days back that began with the pancakes and ended with the crickets chirping while we rode bikes in the light of the floodlight while eating ice cold watermelon with a shake of salt. Good times, great memories.

  2. Michael says:

    Love the pancakes. I completely forgot how she made them. I remember well to this day her mixing and cooking them on that large griddle in the kitchen. They are very delicious.

  3. Michael says:

    Ah Yes, the Bell Sausage! It’s amazing we ate the stuff. I will not touch it now (after I read the ingredients). And I love your blog. I had forgotten about all those wonderful things that Ma Ma and Fonda would cook. I cannot believe we don’t weigh 200lbs the way we ate while children. With the good country cooking and all. A few things Ma Ma made that I still make to this very day are her Date Balls, and Fried Squash and Onions!
    In fact, I made 5 dozen date balls the night before our house burned down. And sadly we never got to enjoy them. But I will make some more this coming holiday season. Keep the great recipes coming! I especially love the ones we grew up with!

    • Heather Mullins says:

      I make the squash and onions all the time…and okra! Just wait until the farmer’s market opens up, and I will have those on here! I was so sorry to hear about your house. If there is anything I can do, please let me know! M

Leave a Reply

